New GCSE Maths Levels explained (?!)

There does not seem to a definitive explanation available yet, but what I have gleaned from several sources is looking like this: A** = Level 9; A* = Level 8; A = Level 7; B = Level 6; C = Level 5 etc….down to G = Level 1.  The new Level 9 is described as being “above A*”, hence I have called it “A**”.